Ralph Melton (ralphmelton) wrote,
Ralph Melton
ralphmelton

History Being Rewritten

Today, I was reading this article on the grappling rules in D&D.

I spotted a discrepancy with my understanding of the rules. The article says that when you start a grapple successfully, you do damage as with an unarmed strike. I had thought that you didn't do damage until your next turn.

So I checked the Player's Handbook to make sure.
The Player's Handbook agrees with the article about this. It's quite clear and unambiguous.
The 3.5 SRD does as well. So does the 3.0 SRD and the 3.0 Player's Handbook.

I had never noticed this in three and a half years of playing.
Neither had Kevin, who wrestled with the grapple rules for a while.
Neither had Mike.
Neither had Mike's friend John, who has also struggled with the grapple rules for their campaign.

This is the sort of thing that makes me suspect (not seriously, but enough to wonder) that the past has been changed by time travel or merging parallel timelines, and this discrepancy between memory and records is one of the little glitches that arise when the seams in reality don't quite match up.
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 32 comments